Middle School

Photo Clickable ImageTidewater Academy’s Middle School consists of grades 6-8. The primary emphasis of the Middle School curriculum is to prepare students for the college preparatory academic environment of the Upper School years. It is in their first year of Middle School that students begin to change classes and experience departmentalized subjects.

The core subjects of English literature, grammar and writing, science, social studies, and history continue to be emphasized in the Middle School years. Students also enjoy participating in art, physical education, and foreign language studies. Field trips, art shows, guest speakers, special assemblies, and community service opportunities extend education beyond the classroom. Class sizes are small which allow for students to receive individual attention when needed.

Various special interest clubs, programs, and competitions are also available for Middle School students. Students may develop their leadership skills by holding an office in the Student Government Association. Sixth and seventh graders may exhibit their athletic capabilities at the annual AVA Field Day competition. Community service opportunities abound in the Fellowship of Christian Athletes club. The Forensics and Scholastic Bowl competitions are also exciting opportunities during the Middle School years.

Middle School students are highly encouraged to begin participation in school athletics. Junior and Junior Varsity sports such as basketball, volleyball, softball, tennis, baseball, and cheerleading are offered at Tidewater Academy. Participation on athletic teams enables Tidewater’s Middle School students to develop their athletic potential, to value teamwork and good sportsmanship, and to adopt healthy physical fitness habits.

Faculty Class Advisors – Mrs. Lindsey Lobur (6th grade), Mr. Marshall Dunn (7th grade), and Mrs. Emily Pittman (8th grade).

2016-17 Class Officers

6th Grade
President – Jenna Francis, VP – Austin Lane, Sec/Treasurer – Sydney Rook

7th Grade
President – Allison Brittle, VP – Rylee Webb, Sec/Treasurer – Haley Fleming

8th Grade
President – Dylan Hite, VP – Jackson Werner, Sec/Treasurer – Phillip Pond

Our Campus